Eight New Schools to Join the Middle School Matters Institute

The George W. Bush Institute at the George W. Bush Presidential Center announced the selection of eight new schools to participate in the second year of Middle School Matters Institute.

The Middle School Matters Institute, implemented in partnership with The Meadows Center for Preventing Educational Risk at The University of Texas at Austin (MCPER), now encompasses a total of 16 schools in four states. The schools receive high quality research-based school improvement strategies from the Bush Institute’s national experts, yearlong professional support from MCPER, and an invitation to the three-day Middle School Matters summer conference.

Using a rigorous selection process, the Bush Institute chose eight new schools, including six Texas schools, from a nationwide pool of applicants:

  • Baytown Junior School of Goose Creek CISD in Baytown, TX
  • Grant Middle School of Corpus Christi ISD in Corpus Christi, TX
  • Lee Middle School of San Angelo ISD in San Angelo, TX
  • Lyndon B. Johnson Middle School of Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD in Pharr, TX
  • Trinity Middle School of Trinity ISD in Trinity, TX
  • Wilkinson Middle School of Mesquite ISD in Mesquite, TX
  • Woodward Elementary School of Manteca USD
  • Advanced Studies Magnet-Haut Gap Middle School

Sharon Vaughn, MCPER’s executive director, said, “We are thrilled to have the opportunity to work with such progressive middle schools that are committed to using proven strategies for success in the middle grades with our teachers and school leaders across the nation.”

Last updated on June 17, 2014