Steinhardt and Schallert Appointed Provost’s Teaching Fellows

Dr. Diane Schallert

Diane Schallert, Department of Educational Psychology

Mary Steinhardt

Mary Steinhardt, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education

College of Education professors Diane Schallert and Mary Steinhardt are among 20 University of Texas at Austin faculty innovators who were recently appointed as inaugural Provost’s Teaching Fellows.

The Provost's Teaching Fellows program is designed to strengthen faculty participation and governance in the Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL), enhance faculty collaboration across disciplinary and institutional boundaries, and support specific faculty-led projects to improve teaching and learning.

In addition to being a professor in the Department of Educational Psychology, Schallert is chair of the department’s Human Development, Culture and Learning Sciences Area. Her research focuses on how student motivation and emotions affect learning environments; computer-mediated discussions; and on the interface between language and knowledge in general. In addition to being named a Provost’s Senior Teaching Fellow, Schallert also has won the Dean’s Distinguished Teaching Award, an Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award and Texas Excellence Teaching Award.

Steinhardt is a professor in the health behavior and health education area of the Department of Kinesiology and Health Education. Her area of expertise is in how individuals can build emotional resilience and strength and how improved resilience benefits overall health. She currently is working on a major research project that promotes resilience-based diabetes self-management programs for African Americans and has examined how resilience can reduce teacher burnout among public school teachers and help military soldiers and their families.

In addition to the recent honor from the Provost’s office, Steinhardt also has been recognized for her teaching excellence with the Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award, Texas Excellence Teaching Award, First Annual Dean’s Distinguished Teaching Award and is a member of UT Austin’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers.

"UT Austin faculty are leading exciting innovations in undergraduate and graduate teaching across the disciplines," said Provost Greg Fenves.

The nine Senior Fellows who were selected will take on a variety of leadership roles for two years, such as leading faculty learning communities, reviewing grants to support curricular and pedagogical innovation, and participating in operational governance for the Center for Teaching and Learning.

Last updated on October 18, 2013