Graduate School Fellowships
Continuing Fellowships
Harrington Dissertation Fellows Program
Departmental and College of Education Scholarships and Fellowship

Graduate School Fellowships

Complete information on many sources of funding can be found at the Graduate School's Financing Your Education page. Educational Psychology students may apply for the University Continuing and Harrington Fellowships through the Department. These fellowships are highly competitive and the Department is permitted to nominate only three students.

Instructions for applying for the Continuing and Harrington Fellowships will be e-mailed to students early in November each year. The deadline for submission of completed applications will be the second Monday in December.

Continuing Fellowships

Continuing Fellowships are designated for graduate students beyond their first year of graduate study. In evaluating the nominees, the greatest emphasis is put on outstanding academic accomplishments since entering graduate school. The committees are interested in publications, research projects, letters of recommendation, etc. Importance is placed on the student’s description of progress and plans for his/her scholarly endeavors (i.e., program of research), so this should be prominently featured in the Statement of Purpose. The full Continuing Fellowship stipend for 2010-2011 is $18,000; this is paid monthly (over 9 months). Students receiving a full fellowship also received a waiver (if needed) to pay in-state tuition and fees, a maximum of $3,566 per long semester in tuition and fees support, and an extra $1,119 to help defray the costs of medical insurance.

Harrington Dissertation Fellows Program

The Harrington Dissertation Fellowship is one-year, two-year, or three-year award for graduate students. Recipients are appointed for 12 months and receive a stipend of $36,000 in addition to full tuition and fees and $2,000 for student medical insurance. Harrington Dissertation Fellows may not simultaneously hold any other fellowship or scholarship awarded by the University. Applicants should follow directions for the Continuing Fellowship.

Departmental and College of Education Scholarships and Fellowships


Numerous graduate fellowships (which reflect endowed monies) are administered through the Department. At the present time, there are eight awards administered through the Department:

  • Christine Warren Anderson Scholarship (Typical amount $1,000)
  • Oliver H. Bown Endowed Fellowship in Educational Psychology (Typical amount $1,000)
  • Educational Psychology Endowed Fellowship in Education (Typical amount $1,000)
  • EDP Faculty’s Excellence Award (Typical amount $1,000)
  • Royal B. Embree, Jr. Endowed Presidential Scholarship (Typical amount $2,500)
  • Bascombe Royall and Frances Fallon Fuller Fellowship (Typical amount $3,000)
  • William L. Hays Endowed Fellowship in Educational Psychology (Typical amount $1,000)
  • H. Paul and Decourcy Kelley Endowed Fellowship in Psychometrics (Typical amount $1,000)
  • Saul and Bernice Manaster Endowed Fellowship (Typical amount $1,000)

College of Education

In addition, there are several College of Education scholarships and fellowships which are administered by the Department. These vary from year to year but usually include the following:

  • Education Annual Fund Endowed Presidential Scholarship (Typical amount $2,500)
  • Alexander Caswell Ellis Fellowship in Education (Typical amount $1,000)
  • Joseph L. and Katherine D. Henderson Foundation Scholarship (Typical amount $1,000)
  • Lorrin G. and Laura D. Kennamer Endowed Presidential Scholarship (Typical amount $3,000)
  • Teresa Lozano Long Endowed Graduate Fellowship (Typical amount $1,000)
  • George I. Sanchez Endowed Presidential Scholarship (Typical amount $2,500)

Criteria for Awards

All qualified students pursuing a graduate degree in Educational Psychology, who apply for a Continuing Fellowship, are automatically considered for any of the departmentally-administered fellowships.

Fellowships are designated as "competitive academic scholarships." The criteria for awards are based on academic achievement, including, but not limited to, the following:

  • GRE scores
  • GPA’s, including upper-division and graduate work
  • Letters of recommendation (must be current letters)
  • Personal statement of career goals and interests
  • Research, publication, and other scholarly activities since entering graduate study
  • Community and other activities related to and supporting career goals

Because these are competitive academic scholarships, recipients who are classified as nonresidents for tuition purposes are eligible to receive a waiver of the nonresident portion of their tuition, if a tuition waiver is available (see Nonresident Tuition Waivers for Fellowship Recipients). Since these fellowships are based on merit, a student’s residency is not considered as one of the criteria for an award.

Last updated on September 20, 2011